The Hobbit

This isn’t a science fiction book, but It’s one of my favorites:

“In a hole, in the ground, there lived a Hobbit”.

This is the iconic line that introduced me to what is today my favorite hobby, reading, it is also the first book I ever really liked. It was then, at ten years old that I discovered how you could live in a whole other world in your mind while reading, and introduced me to the escapism I still crave today. Thanks to this book I quickly read Lord of the Rings, The Silmarilion, Narnia, and other fantasy books.

In my opinion Bilbo Baggins is one of the most lovable literary characters ever. All he ever wants- or thinks his wants- is to be quiet and respectable, yet somehow he finds himself dealing with trolls, goblins and a dragon. This is portrayed well in the movie when Bilbo has just left the Shire and he says: “No, wait, we have to go back, I forgot my handkerchief”.

Not only is it a good adventure, but it is really funny in places and scary in others. I think it has the perfect combination. It is a lighter read than LOTR but it still shows the wonderfully creative mind that Tolkien had. For me one of the best aspects of this book is that we can all relate to Bilbo, the part of us that longs for the simple, comfortable life. Yet there is something in everyone that longs for worthwhile experiences and exciting adventures. It makes me root for him the whole time.

Posted in Uncategorized

Leave a comment